历史

这一切都始于一条博客评论。

2020年12月8日,Red Hat公司宣布将停止开发CentOS(一个可用于生产环境的Red Hat Enterprise Linux下游版本)。作为替代,Red Hat采用该操作系统较新的上游开发版本——称为 "CentOS Stream"。作为回应,CentOS的最初创始人格雷戈里·库尔泽(Gregory Kurtzer) 通过CentOS网站上的评论宣布,他将再次启动一个项目以实现CentOS的最初目标。而之所以命名为Rocky Linux,是为了向早期CentOS的联合创始人洛基·麦高(Rocky McGaugh) 致敬。截止到12月12日,Rocky Linux的代码库已经成为 GitHub 上最热门的代码库之一。

2020年12月22日,Rocky Linux宣布初始版本发布的目标时间是在2021年3月至5月之间。2021年1月20日,它宣布将会在2月底向公众提供一个测试存储库,并计划将在2021年3月底发布候选版本(Release Candidate)。然而,这一日期被略微推迟到了2021年4月30日,第一个候选版本才被正式发布。2021年6月4日,第二个候选版本也就是8.4 版本正式发布,这是稳定版(Stable版本,也叫GA版本)之前的最后一个版本。2021年6月21日,Rocky Linux 8.4 稳定版发布,代号为"Green Obsidian"(绿色黑曜石)。

组织

Rocky Linux 项目由 Rocky 企业软件基金会 (RESF) 组织。要了解该组织架构的更新消息,请参阅此页面

追忆起在早期 CentOS 的日子,我的联合创始人洛基·麦高(Rocky McGaugh),已经不在我们身边。他从未见到过 CentOS 取得的成功, 所以为了致敬这位联合创始人以及完成他的心愿,我向您介绍 Rocky Linux。

格雷戈里·库尔泽(Gregory Kurtzer)


联合创始人 @ CentOS / 创始人 @ Rocky Linux

强力后盾

Ctrl IQ
45Drives
Arm
Amazon Web Services
Equinix
Fastly
Fosshost
Google Cloud
Mattermost
Microsoft Azure
MontaVista
Naver Cloud
OpenDrives
OSU Open Source Labs
Supermicro
vmware

History

It all started with a blog comment.

On December 8, 2020, Red Hat announced that they would discontinue development of CentOS, which has been a production-ready downstream version of Red Hat Enterprise Linux, in favor of a newer upstream development variant of that operating system known as "CentOS Stream". In response, original founder of CentOS, Gregory Kurtzer, announced via a comment on the CentOS website that he would again start a project to achieve the original goals of CentOS. It's name was chosen as a tribute to early CentOS co-founder Rocky McGaugh. By December 12, the code repository of Rocky Linux had become the top-trending repository on GitHub.

On December 22, 2020, Rocky Linux announced that the target for an initial release was anywhere between March and May of 2021. On January 20, 2021, it was announced that a test repository would be made available to the public by the end of February, and a release candidate was on target for the end of March 2021. However, that date was slightly pushed back, and on April 30, 2021, the first release candidate was officially released. The second release candidate, of version 8.4, the last before the stable release, was released on June 4, 2021. On June 21, 2021, the stable release of Rocky Linux 8.4 was released, with the code name "Green Obsidian".

Organization

The Rocky Linux project is hosted by the Rocky Enterprise Software Foundation (RESF). To learn more about the organizational structure, please check out the page on the topic.

Thinking back to early CentOS days... My cofounder was Rocky McGaugh. He is no longer with us, so as a H/T to him, who never got to see the success that CentOS came to be, I introduce to you...Rocky Linux.

Gregory Kurtzer


Co-Founder @ CentOS / Founder @ Rocky Linux

Backed By

Ctrl IQ
45Drives
Arm
Amazon Web Services
Equinix
Fastly
Fosshost
Google Cloud
Mattermost
Microsoft Azure
MontaVista
Naver Cloud
OpenDrives
OSU Open Source Labs
Supermicro
vmware